North Central Kansas Food Council

North Central Kansas Food Council LogoThe North Central Kansas Food Council is made up of a diverse group of public and private stakeholders in a collaborative effort to advocate for enhanced quality of life for all residents through sustainable access to regionally produced food options, economic opportunity, and educational recourses.  The group met for the first time in February 2017 and encompasses all 12 counties in the NCRPC primary service area including Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, Marshall, Mitchell, Ottawa, Republic, Saline, and Washington.


The mission of the Council is to advocate for enhanced quality of life for all residents through sustainable access to regional produced food options, economic opportunity, and educational resources.


Clay County – Aaron Floresch
Cloud County – Loren Swenson
Dickinson County – Julie Roller
Ellsworth County – Ashley Svaty
Jewell County – Jennifer Simmelink
Lincoln County – Gaylene Zier-Ryan
Marshall County – Ellen Barber
Mitchell County – Greg Renter
Ottawa County – Deanna Betts
Republic County – Chris or Christi Janssen
Saline County – Brenda Gutierrez
Washington County – Twilya L’Ecuyer


  • Increase access to affordable, nutritious and safe food;
  • Enhance economic development and strengthen local food systems;
  • Bring stakeholders together and provide mechanisms for seeking advice and expertise;
  • Effect improvement in the health and well-being of all residents;
  • Encourage means for small business expansion and or development;
  • Partner with existing programs in North Central Kansas and state food policy organizations;
  • Facilitate educational opportunities;
  • Establish an online presence to educate and connect stakeholders;
  • Assess and prioritize the needs of the local food system.


The North Central Kansas Food Council was formed as an initiative of Live Well Saline County and the North Central Regional Planning (NCRPC) and is supported by Advancing Rural Prosperity, Inc. (ARPI) through its joint partnership with the NCRPC to advance food system development in North Central Kansas. Live Well Saline County is dedicated to improving health and wellness for Saline County, Kansas. The NCRPC is committed to advancing rural Kansas through comprehensive planning and development services. ARPI, a major contributor in establishing and growing the regional food system in Northwest Kansas, brings that expertise to the central region of the state.

The Council also wishes to acknowledge the assistance of Missty Lechner from the American Heart Association and the Kansas Alliance for Wellness.

Kansas Food and Farm Councils Map

The following map, provided courtesy of the Kansas Alliance for Wellness, shows the current food and farm councils in the state.


For more information, visit the NCK Food Council Facebook page or contact Emily Benedick, NCRPC Community Development Representative.
Facebook Follow NCK Food Council on Facebook